Art Prize 2012

Selected to paint used car hoods for Auto Fix-it Body Shop in Grand Rapids for a huge art competition called, Art Prize in Grand Rapids, MI.  In this competition, artists pick a venue and submit proposals for that venue. Since this was car related, I chose to paint on car hoods, since that was my canvas of choice back then!  I went to the local pick-a-part in Grand Rapids and painted all 5 of these on site.

 

4 Hoods displayed on exterior of building. Auto Fix-It Grand Rapids, MI
Portrait of Jerry Seinfeld hand painted with Sharpie and Spray Paint
Elvis Presley pained on a pink Cadillac hood!
Portrait of Marilyn Monroe Painted on Hood
Portrait of Jay Leno painted on Hood
Portrait of the original owner of Auto Fix-it in Grand Rapids, this is the current owner’s Father – He absolutely loves Volkswagen cars – the only VW hood I could find nearby was a 2000 Jetta, so I improvised!

Leave a comment